ERIK ALMAS “My relative didn’t give me a camera when I was 12”

Erik Almas was born in Trondheim, Norway. He graduates with Best Portfolio in the Spring Show and in 2004 the Academy of Art gave him an Honorary Degree of Outstanding Alumnus. Lives and works in San Francisco. The photographer worked for important advertising campaigns  some for: American Airlines, Absolut, Union Pacific, Toyota, Puma, Pfizer, Microsoft and Nike.

“Photography sort of fell in my lap. When looking back at how I became a photographer it is almost like it rained on me. I didn’t have a great interest in pictures. Or art. And a relative didn’t give me a camera when I was 12. It was small random sources hitting me different places and when faced with the crossroad and question of; “What do I do now?” I was soaked up in the idea of becoming a photographer. Since then small encounters have led me halfway across the world and then around it a few extra times.”

Digital artist and photographer, Almas with his compositions of images, borders on absolute creativity, the images are eye-catching, light control is superb and organized perfectly and the subjects are between most various.

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Photoshop has become a true extension of his image making and how he take pictures, so it plays a big role in the whole process. It has all the characteristics of the film, the filters, and the darkroom. It’s the gateway for compositing different elements into one picture, which allows for truly making images rather than just taking them.
The characteristics of his photo are: its painterly feeling, the emotion and the subtle metaphors evoked. He want to capture the beauty of fantastic and surrealist atmosphere. Also, he uses a doses of fantasy for create photos that seems realistic, but instead are digitally manipulated.

“An image is really good when it evokes some kind of emotional response from the viewer. A photograph can be great to me in many ways, without meaning much to other people who look at it. I can love an image for the cool way it was lit or some new technical achievement.”

Almas, for his shots, takes inspiration from nature, everyday life, landscapes of the world and turns them into fantastic play of light and amusing metaphors, recreating them from the smallest detail.

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Recent Work of Erik Almas

tumblr_m93p5gGXqU1rdgexeo2_1280

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Seamless_Spotlight_Erik_Almas_Work-1

Recent Work of Erik Almas

lightbox_GENLUX_WIP_14_Final

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Screen-Shot-2014-03-04-at-2.28.59-PM

Recent Work of Erik Almas

Watch the Video for discover Erik Almas Behind the Scenes

For more information visit Erik Almas’ web site: http://www.erikalmas.com/
and read a great interview, to find out more about Erik, on: http://www.photoshop.com/spotlights/erik-almas#

Leave a comment